IN THE US A .08 BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) IS CONSIDERED LEGALLY IMPAIRED.
Virginia has some of the toughest laws in the USA!
In Virginia, first arrest while driving a vehicle at .08 BAC results in a mandatory interlock, which requires the driver to breathe into a device before their car will start. Even a slight level of alcohol on your breath will prevent the car from starting. You also suffer an automatic suspension of your Driver’s License for a minimum of 7 days, and often much longer; up to a year in jail, $8000 or more in costs, sometimes much more, and you could lose your job. Your car insurance will triple for at least three years, and you are automatically considered a high risk for any type of insurance. And… there is the social stigma that goes with the DUI arrest.
A DUI ARREST IS A NIGHTMARE!!